Awards and Prizes

British Academy Medal, 2017
The Holberg Prize, 2015
Sheikh Zayed Book Award for Arab Culture in Non-Arabic Languages, 2013
Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism, 2013
National Book Critics Circle Award for Criticism 2012

Awarded the CBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List for Services to Literature, 2008
Honorary Fellow of The Pataphysical Society, London 2007
Fellow of the British Academy, 2005
Commendatore dell’Ordine della Stella di Solidareità, Italy, 2005

President of the Virgil Society, 2004
Vice-President, Institute of Greece, Rome, and Classical Studies, University of Bristol, 2004
Aby Warburg Prize, 2004
President of the Virgil Society, 2004
Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, France, 2000
Honorary Fellow, Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford, 2000

Rose Mary Crawshay Prize, British Academy, 2000
Katharine Briggs Memorial Prize, 1999
Mythopoeic Scholarship Award, 1996
Harvey Darton Prize, 1996
Honorary Fellow, Queen Mary and Westfield College, University of London, 1994

Commonwealth Writer’s Prize (Eurasia), 1989
PEN Silver Pen Award, 1988
Booker Prize Short List, 1988
Fawcett Prize, 1986
Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, 1985

Daily Express Award, 1972
Young Writer of the Year (Daily Telegraph Award), 1971
Runner Up: W.H. Smith Children’s Poetry Prize, 1964





For Curriculum Vitae please see here


© Marina Warner 2011 - Contact